One Summer Morning

Voyage

One bright summer morning. Through the small opening of the thick bamboo blind of the kitchen window I glance outside. The woman of the yellow house to the front and her English Mastiff dog return from their morning walk. She stops close to the curb and wipes the sweat from her forehead with a small  towel. The dog sits there with his mouth open and tongue out.It must be hot! I squeeze my head a little further. The two fat squirrels play hide and seek around the Crape Myrtle tree in one of the neighbor’s yard. All the new exciting mornings! The promise of them,a blank slate and a chance.I walk through the slightly opened  back door and  sit on the wooden porch. The crowded roses to the right are hotly odorous. A faint rustling breeze among the foliage of the tree is shifting pale-gold patches of sunlight back and forth over my tawny body. My eyes follow the flying birds across the sky until it is hard to trace any more. I lay there and enjoy the quiet morning before the lawn mowers start in all the lawns in different intervals.

A familiar voice comes from inside of the house. “ Let’s go”. This is a very magical word when it comes from my mother like water bright Soprano in a choir then I know that it is  special. So I raise my head, perk up my small ears, straight the back and run towards the door. Delight blooms on my face.

My mom walks to the garage and opens the door of the suv. “Yeh!” I bark softly,wag my long busy tail and jump to the back seat. I feel my breathing quickens as if there is not enough air inside the suv and search for oxygen, like the crew of a doomed submarine. My mom switches the Moth station in the radio and starts the engine. As the suv rolls, I snuggle close to the window and glance at everything; different types of people in different shape of cars, the older man selling newspaper on the sidewalk, a few young boys and girls on their bikes with their parents, new moms jogging with the babies in the strollers. As we drive on the long highway I see only cars, trucks, eighteen wheelers and big trees along the sides of the roads.

After a while we stop in front of a big white building. I jump down from the seat to the pavement and look closely to the building. It seems so familiar. Wait a minute.I look up towards my mom and then back to the building. No, really! My mom turns the black knob of the door in one hand and holds my leash on the other. We walk in. Inside there are some parents sit on a long wooden bench with their dogs and waiting patiently. Some of the dogs are squeaking, some are barking and some are ready to go.  We sit on one chair to the left of the front desk. My mom talks to me and flips through a magazine. After a few minutes a woman in a white jacket and a blue pant calls my name. Now I remember everything. As soon as we enter the room I start to pull the leash. My heart beats like a hammer. Fear curtains my small face Both my ears and tail are down. I do not like strangers to touch me. I feel so nervous that I start to bump myself into the glass windows of the room. I want to get out from here. My mom says warmly, “ Lucy, come, sit with me. You will be fine, come.” She pulls out a treat from her hand bag to calm me but I do not want to eat anything. I want to go home. My body starts to shake from fear. I move closer to my mother and glance at her face. At home she understands everything that I express through my eyes but today she is different. She pretends not to. Then the door opens and the woman doctor walks in. I lick her hand. “ Mom! Please let’s go. The door is open and our last chance to escape.”  But today she is very stubborn. The nurse holds me tight, my mom pats my head lovingly while the doctor checks. It takes a few minutes but for me it is really a long time.

On the way back I climb to the seat and just lay down there. I do not want to see anything, nothing at all. I do not care any more. It is a very hard day for me so I close my eyes and sleep until we reach home.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. littledogslaughed
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 19:34:37

    Poor thing-I have had dogs who no matter what just did not like going to the vet. Right now, fortunately, all three seem to enjoy it-they lots of attention (in between the pokes and prods) and of course, a cookie or two. Me? I can look forward to a quiet rest of the day while everyone recovers 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

Archives

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

Lekhamisra

Lekhamisra

Hello and Namaste to my wonderful bloggers and readers. I am Lekha, grew up in one of the beautiful city of Odisha in the mystical land India. My paternal grandmother was a perfect story teller- stories of brave kings and queens to stories of freedom fighters, to stories on kindness,honesty, compassion, truthfulness. As soon as I learned to read, my marvelous adventures started through the fairy tales, the mysteries, the classics and the autobiographies. O’ Yes, it was lots of fun! Life got busy with my son and daughter in their school,library, music class, dance class, tennis, soccer, scout, debate...Staying active is very important for me. I have a deep affection and respect to Nature. After the children started their own lives, enormous time has poured into my weekends. I decide to do devout my time in volunteering. But still I could not satisfy my hunger and craving to do something more. One evening, I was reading some article on international issues on children, women,and on animal cruelty, which were very disturbing, traumatic and sad. It is very hard to see others in suffering. Life is more fulfilling and rich when you help others, when you bring smile on others. “ Be a rainbow in someone else’s clouds.”- Maya Angelou. So I start to write again. I want my writing to be a strong voice for others in distress; for the innocent animals,for children, for women, on global warming and for all other social causes. And I am thankful to WordPress for providing this wonderful platform to express my observation, views and dreams. I hope you explore the stories,enjoy and leave appropriate comments.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

I Voted

Social

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

