Their Journey

Handwritten

Today my thoughts are wandering; trailing through unfamiliar places, picking up different incidents, new faces, and observing them carefully. I look around in my mind’s eye: it is like stepping onto a fair ground, everywhere life forces wanting to get out, people moving in all directions, expressing their fear, anger, sadness and hopelessness.  I am feeling myself enveloped in everything that they are going through. I pull out my blue note pad from the table to write.

“Mom! Please! Can I take my teddy, my story book and our puppy?’’ The three years old girl in a lilac dress with white ruffles stands close to her mom holding tightly to her yellow teddy bear and the story book in one hand and the leash of the small puppy in the other. She swipes her hairs from her forehead and lifts her eyes up towards her mother for an answer.

Her mother bends down and gently takes away the big teddy and the puppy from her daughter’s hand and says, “I am sorry Saben. We cannot take them with us. It is a very long road and the puppy will get tired but you can take your pretty purple rubber ball and one small pony with you.” Then her mother opens the lid of the toy box and pulls out a ball and a tiny pony with sparkles on all over its body and soft long yellow hair and hands them to Saben.“Keep these it your pocket and let’s hurry we need to leave.”

“Mom, can I go, say good bye to my friend and ask if she can keep our puppy until we return from our travel?” Asks Saben.

“No Saben. We don’t have time.”

Saben hugs her puppy and gently kisses on his furry head.Both the mother and daughter leave the house holding two bags just like the others from their town; young, old and infants. The battle ground shifts daily. First their houses were ransacked but they stayed.Then the Islamic state arrived and threatened and terrorized.They have to leave the attacks, the violence and move their family to safety. They walk through endless strings of villalges. People stand in the long line for three days to board a boat to head to the island of Lesbos. Saben is tired of standing in one place. She walks slowly; her head slightly bend towards one shoulder and both her hands dangling down. Saben leans closer to her mother and looks around. There are so many children like her; some are standing, some are sitting on the grass and playing with each other and most of the adults look very serious and grumpy. Saben wants to go back to her home and play with her puppy or share cookies with both her puppy and her best friend. She laces her fingers together in front of her and then taps her chin in one finger. She realizes that she has not seen her friend or her parents from last week. ‘Where are they?’ Seben whispers. It is almost night but they are still standing in the line. Saben doesn’t want to play any more with the littler pony.

Finally they step into the boat. There are so many people and it is hard to sit. Saben hears the crying of the infants and the sighs of the elders. She leans her head against her mom’s hand and closes her eyes. Another three days wait to take the ship to Athens. Saben does not understand this type of travel which does not involve any fun activity, but it is more like torture to sit or stand in one place. The early morning is full of sunlight and hope. Her mother opens a brown bag, pulls out a small plastic bag and hands over the last one cracker to Saben. Saben looks at her mom’s empty hand with surprise and asks, “Where’s yours? Are you not hungry? Saben breaks the cracker to half and hands one half to her mother and says “Dad used to say that sharing is always good.” Saben’s mother tries to smile and hugs her daughter. Her eyes are blank. Her voice comes out without the rise or fall, without emphasis and without any emotion.Then she bends to the other side and slowly wipes her tears with the back of her palm.

Saben eats slowly, steadily then stops not abruptly, yet with utter completeness; her jaws still in mid chewing a cracker and turn her eyes towards the shore. She smiles and murmurs, O’ yes this must be our destination. She turns back to her mother and says breathlessly, “Mom! Look, we are here and now we can stay here for some days then go back to our home.” She lifts her face and says, “Do you know mom that I am missing my puppy and my friends. My puppy must be tired of waiting for us and I hope the neighbors are taking good care of him. How many days we have to stay here, hope not too many days. Right mom?”

Saben brushes a cloud of hair out of her eyes and waits eagerly for an answer from her mother.

crisis   crisis2

handwriten   handwritten

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. luckyjc007
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 22:05:11

    So very sad. It’s heartbreaking for the child and even more so for her mother. Parents can take a lot…but when it involves their children it really hurts deep!

    Like

    Reply

  2. lifelessons
    Sep 13, 2015 @ 03:56:01

    You certainly do bring your point across. I’d love to hear the rest of their story and have it end happily…for all those people pictured in your heartbreaking photo. http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/09/12/serpentine/

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

Archives

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

Lekhamisra

Lekhamisra

Hello and Namaste to my wonderful bloggers and readers. I am Lekha, grew up in one of the beautiful city of Odisha in the mystical land India. My paternal grandmother was a perfect story teller- stories of brave kings and queens to stories of freedom fighters, to stories on kindness,honesty, compassion, truthfulness. As soon as I learned to read, my marvelous adventures started through the fairy tales, the mysteries, the classics and the autobiographies. O’ Yes, it was lots of fun! Life got busy with my son and daughter in their school,library, music class, dance class, tennis, soccer, scout, debate...Staying active is very important for me. I have a deep affection and respect to Nature. After the children started their own lives, enormous time has poured into my weekends. I decide to do devout my time in volunteering. But still I could not satisfy my hunger and craving to do something more. One evening, I was reading some article on international issues on children, women,and on animal cruelty, which were very disturbing, traumatic and sad. It is very hard to see others in suffering. Life is more fulfilling and rich when you help others, when you bring smile on others. “ Be a rainbow in someone else’s clouds.”- Maya Angelou. So I start to write again. I want my writing to be a strong voice for others in distress; for the innocent animals,for children, for women, on global warming and for all other social causes. And I am thankful to WordPress for providing this wonderful platform to express my observation, views and dreams. I hope you explore the stories,enjoy and leave appropriate comments.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

I Voted

Social

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

