A Past

Fifteen Credits     If you’re in school, are you enjoying your classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

“Your past is always your past. Even if you forget it, it remembers you.”    ― Sarah Dessen

Mom! I am ready.’ Clover was standing close to the kitchen dressed in a white shirt and a plain light blue jumper and holding a pink back pack. Her wavy hair was pulled back from her face with a pretty blue ribbon. She was almost five and just started the school. She was eager to go to the school because the beautiful  pictures of the coloring books, the music class and the play ground full of kids floated in her thought. She did not want to make any late, not even a second.Most of the fun of pre-school and kindergarten came to an end and she started the next step .

Clover almost made her way to the head of the circular stone stairs when she heard ‘Clover, come to the dining room. I want to ask you the time-table before you leave for school.‘ Said her mother as she was preparing the breakfast in the kitchen. Clover walked slowly, just like a snail. She did not like the time-table and she could not remember if nine times five is forty-five or fifty-five. O’ well, it is better to memorize now before the math teacher asks her in front of the whole class, clover murmurs. She enjoyed all the science classes, the reading class, her favorite history class but not the math class or the math teacher. Clover’s father was very worried during her middle school so every year for three years at a stretch, he tried hiring different brilliant math students from the university to teach Clover the math. First teacher was a student of Statistic and he left after three moths of tutoring. His explanation was that Clover had no interest in math. The same answer was from the other two teachers. The last math teacher was a brilliant student but he made a slight mistake while teaching the math.

It was a pretty Saturday evening in December just the day after Clover’s Birthday. Clover  sat on the beige color sofa and was enjoying the interesting story books; presents from her grandmother when she heard the knock on the door. There at the front porch the tuition teacher was standing with a  big smile eager to start his evening.

‘ Are you ready for a new chapter of the math book? I am excited.’ He said without waiting for a reply.

‘Sure’. Clover answered as she swiped her bangs to one side, left the story books on the end table and walked into the study with the teacher. During the practice Clover tried but could not solve a fraction question in math.The math teacher raised his voice out of frustration which she did not appreciate at all. Clover was not a naughty child but her dislike for math was unbearable. She leaned forward, opened her ink pen and poured the ink in the delicious Darjeeling tea that her mother just brought for the teacher. Both sat there quietly, looking at each other for a few moments ,stood up from the chairs at the same time and apologized to each other.The tutor left. Later she wrote a letter to the math tutor for her mistake and apologized again. That was Clover’s adventure in math in the early part of the middle school.

After the middle school Clover started to concentrate and enjoy more of the classes. The competitive spirit started to overflow in her . Clover wanted to be first in her classes. The thirst for learning new things grew day by day. Clover not only enjoyed  the Psychology labs but also enjoyed the wonderful time with her few close friends; the secrets and the giggles, a few field trips. ‘Clover! It is almost midnight. Go to bed. You can finish that in early morning.’ Her dad said from the hall as he closed the door of his study. It was the day before Clover’s final exam in the college. But she could not sleep. She sat cross-legged on the deep cushion with the book and tried to memorize some last minute topics. Clover was determined to get the first place in her final exam.  After college Clover missed more of the spirit of competition but her dad used to say that,’ Real lessons in life starts once the college is over.’
Yes school was lots of fun.

We can not hold the past, we have to let it go. It is more fun to move forward and learn new things that life presents to us in different ways.

memory

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. luckyjc007
    Jun 20, 2015 @ 03:33:07

    Great read! And, the quote is so true. I enjoyed reading this.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 017 – Commentare, che passione | mirkolamberti
  3. mirkolamberti
    Jun 21, 2015 @ 01:03:07

    Reblogged this on mirkolamberti and commented:
    “Your past is always your past. Even if you forget it, it remembers you.” ― Sarah Dessen

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

Archives

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

Lekhamisra

Lekhamisra

Hello and Namaste to my wonderful bloggers and readers. I am Lekha, grew up in one of the beautiful city of Odisha in the mystical land India. My paternal grandmother was a perfect story teller- stories of brave kings and queens to stories of freedom fighters, to stories on kindness,honesty, compassion, truthfulness. As soon as I learned to read, my marvelous adventures started through the fairy tales, the mysteries, the classics and the autobiographies. O’ Yes, it was lots of fun! At middle school my imagination started to take wings into short stories and sometimes in sketching. In 1987 I came to USA to continue my education in Psychology. Life got busy with my son and daughter in their school,library, music class, dance class, tennis, soccer, scout, debate...Staying active is very important for me.So after work, I enjoy going to different classes - kickboxing, RIPP, PiYo and Yoga. I have a deep affection and respect to Nature. For me winter is the champion. During winter vacation it is always delightful to hike on the gorgeous,stunning and beautiful snowy mountains in different national parks. After the children started their own lives, enormous time has poured into my weekends. I decide to do devout my time in volunteering. But still I could not satisfy my hunger and craving to do something more. One evening, I was reading some article on international issues on children, women,and on animal cruelty, which were very disturbing, traumatic and sad.I could not stop my tear or could not sleep. It is very hard to see others in suffering. Life is more fulfilling and rich when you help others, when you bring smile on others. “ Be a rainbow in someone else’s clouds.”- Maya Angelou. So I start to write again. I want my writing to be a strong voice for others in distress; for the innocent animals,for children, for women, on global warming and for all other social causes. Sometimes the truth is hard to digest but I am determined to reflect on those topics to make my readers aware on social issues. And I am thankful to WordPress for providing this wonderful platform to express my observation, views and dreams. I hope you explore the stories,enjoy and leave appropriate comments.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

I Voted

Social

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

