Capturing the imagination

The Zone

Tell us about your favorite way to get lost in a simple activity —What’s it like when you’re in “the zone”?

An early Saturday morning. Ivy is up before the sunrise, eager to begin her day. She makes a cup of Darjeeling tea and carries it to her study room. She sits on her favorite grey chair, puts her arms on the armrests, presses her neck against the back of the chair and looks at the blank computer screen. She takes a sip of the tea and looks at the screen again. Ivy thinks about a topic to write and the first line to start her story. Gradually her face becomes a series of book covers which forecast her different thoughts. Ivy starts to type a few sentences, then reads, tips her head, leans back on the chair, toys with her gold chain, then re-reads and deletes. Suddenly a few new ideas flash into her mind. She smiles and the dimple on her cheek deepens. Ivy take another sip of  the delicious hot tea and brings the magic into the story. “Yes”. Says Ivy and giggles with her success.

 Around nine o’ clock in the morning, Ivy’s husband walks into the room and asks,” Are you going to make any breakfast?”

Ivy keeps typing and replies, “Give me a few more minutes and in the meantime eat a banana. Banana has lots of potassium and is healthy for you.” She turns her attention to her story.
Ivy looks out through the window. The neighbors are busy in mowing their lawns, beautifying their garden. The kids are running around with their dogs. The old lady in-front of her house is chasing her small white Shih-Tzu puppy in her lawn, trying hard to pick her but the hyper active puppy does not listen. Ivy turn her head to the other side of the road and glances at the real tall and skinny lady who is getting ready for her one hour run.

” Wow!” Ivy says and return her gaze to the screen with surprise and wonder. ” What? I have not finished my first paragraph. Let me concentrate more.” She starts typing.

Ivy sits in the fading warmth of the filtered Spring time Sun spilling through the big glass window of her study room. Her husband walks in with a bowl of cherries and leaves it on her desk. Ivy adjusts her black eye-glass on the nose, lifts her eyes and says”Thanks. I am almost done and then I will make couscous with lots of vegetables and a hint of spice, like the way you like.” Then she turns back her attention on typing. After one hour, Ivy stops writing. She stretches her arms above her head, to the back, stares at the ceiling and then looks back at her screen in the hope of being surprised by the brilliance of what is there. Ivy holds her chin between her finger and thumb and reads her story. “Hmm. O’ well it does not matter, I like it”. She says and writes for one more hour. The Tabby cat walks close to Ivy, rubs against her bare ankle and salutes with a querulous meow.The dog lays on the carpet, and looks at Ivy with the corner of her eye to get a littler attention. The cat begs for food and the dog waits for a long walk.

It is almost twelve o’ clock in the afternoon when Ivy’s phone rings. She looks at the screen with a surprise.” Why are you calling me from the living room? Is there something Important?” She asks her husband.

Ivy’s husband replies,” Lunch is ready so take a break.”

“O’ sorry. I did not see the time. Sure I will be there in five minutes.” Replies Ivy and tries to finish her second paragraph of the story.

images                      images

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alka Girdhar
    May 24, 2015 @ 01:50:41

    Loved reading this and can relate to some of it. The parts about nutritious banana, cherries and finally hubby getting lunch ready, were amusing.
    Ivy’s husband is supportive as he should be. Alka’s husband is inter-state, her son has his own career issues. Full load of household work, no help or maids, part-time job, and the result is her writings are very quick, hurried and unedited. Many ideas come and go but no time. She’s decided to stop writing for the time being.

    Like

    Reply

  2. iseeiseesaidme
    May 24, 2015 @ 02:07:21

    I like your story form .

    Like

    Reply

  3. luckyjc007
    May 24, 2015 @ 12:12:06

    I enjoyed reading this and certainly relate to it. Time seems to speed by when I’m trying to put my thoughts together and write them down. The drawings for this post is perfect! 🌞

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

Archives

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

Lekhamisra

Lekhamisra

Hello and Namaste to my wonderful bloggers and readers. I am Lekha, grew up in one of the beautiful city of Odisha in the mystical land India. My paternal grandmother was a perfect story teller- stories of brave kings and queens to stories of freedom fighters, to stories on kindness,honesty, compassion, truthfulness. As soon as I learned to read, my marvelous adventures started through the fairy tales, the mysteries, the classics and the autobiographies. O’ Yes, it was lots of fun! At middle school my imagination started to take wings into short stories and sometimes in sketching. In 1987 I came to USA to continue my education in Psychology. Life got busy with my son and daughter in their school,library, music class, dance class, tennis, soccer, scout, debate...Staying active is very important for me.So after work, I enjoy going to different classes - kickboxing, RIPP, PiYo and Yoga. I have a deep affection and respect to Nature. For me winter is the champion. During winter vacation it is always delightful to hike on the gorgeous,stunning and beautiful snowy mountains in different national parks. After the children started their own lives, enormous time has poured into my weekends. I decide to do devout my time in volunteering. But still I could not satisfy my hunger and craving to do something more. One evening, I was reading some article on international issues on children, women,and on animal cruelty, which were very disturbing, traumatic and sad.I could not stop my tear or could not sleep. It is very hard to see others in suffering. Life is more fulfilling and rich when you help others, when you bring smile on others. “ Be a rainbow in someone else’s clouds.”- Maya Angelou. So I start to write again. I want my writing to be a strong voice for others in distress; for the innocent animals,for children, for women, on global warming and for all other social causes. Sometimes the truth is hard to digest but I am determined to reflect on those topics to make my readers aware on social issues. And I am thankful to WordPress for providing this wonderful platform to express my observation, views and dreams. I hope you explore the stories,enjoy and leave appropriate comments.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

I Voted

Social

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

