A memorable encounter

Worldly Encounters

The friendly, English-speaking extraterrestrial you run into outside your house is asking you to recommend the one book, movie, or song that explains what humans are all about.

A Friday evening in May. The weather is surprisingly gorgeous. I decide to take a long walk with my dog in the trail.The beautiful songs of the white-winged dove, Carolina Wren, Northern Mocking bird and the simple notes of  Northern Cardinal makes the walk more enjoyable.The Blue Jay, American Robin, Blue-gray Gnatcatcher, Nutmeg Spice finches fly around the trees and chirp like hyperactive monkeys. On the both sides of the trail the tall and elegant trees rise up like feathers to tickle the sky. A few trees with beautiful and colorful flowers punctuate the landscape. My dog enjoys the hide-and seek game with all the squirrels and meet a few new friends as the white poodle, a friendly Labrador and a pretty Pit bull Terrier. It is almost eight when I decide to return home. There is no light in the trail so I try to walk faster and suddenly I see a spark of blue light to my right. I stop and look around and I do not see any thing special so I keep walking. But my dog pulls the leash and starts barking. I stop and look around. Now fear creeps into my mind. I start to run with the dog. My knees give up so after fifteen minutes I stop and try to breathe. I am not a runner. I can do kick boxing for more than one hour or be in the Ripped class for a longer time but running is the last thing. So we stop close to a wooden bench on the side of the trail. As I bend down to stretch my legs, I hear a strange voice.

“Hello! Why are you running so fast? I am trying to talk to you.”

I stop breathing, grip the leash tightly and turn slowly. The voice is very different from a human.I do not notice any body but pinprick flashes of light and colored moving shape. My dog starts barking. I try to wipe the sweat from my eyes, tuck a few stray hairs behind my ear and look again. There is a shadow much taller than me. I gather some courage, crane my neck and say,”Hello! Who are you? why are you following us? And where are you? I can not see you.”

I am a space traveler. But do not be afraid. It is better for you not to see me. I have seen how you screamed and shut the front door of your house that day when your tabby cat brought a dead mouse as a gift. Also the other day you saw the big brown tree roach on your back deck, you screamed and ran into your kitchen,which is very confusing to me. Now you are breathing very abnormally like a dragon. So please do not. I am harmless. I meet a lots of humans on this earth but I have chosen you. From the last three weeks I have been following you everywhere; in your home, in your work, in your garden and in the gym to know you more. I think you are a very nice person and I can rely on you.” The shadow moves closer to me and says,” I have a very curious mind with lots of questions about humans. I am confident that you can answer all my questions.” Then the blue light in the shadow flickers again.

I try to be brave and strong. The simplicity in the voice touches my heart.I wipe my sweat and try to calm the anxious dog.Then I lift my eyes towards the shadow and say,” O’ you speak in English! What is playing in your mind? Then I swallow, clear my throat and say,” I mean, what is your question?”

The shadow moves closer. Now I can feel his or her or it’s existence. I hear a deep laugh as if it comes from a machine. And I  feel a little emotion in that laugh.

I am very curious to know about the humans; their origin and their evolution, everything.”

I am very surprised with the question. We think, write and read so many strange things about the existence in other planets and here I am standing so close to one of them who is so friendly, nice and just wants to know about humans. I look at the shadow, smile and say, ” Yes I know one or two books that may help you.There is one book called ‘ The 10,000 year explosion’ by Gregory Cochran in my book collection, which you can borrow but I think you will like more the new one ‘The Ancestor’s Tale: A Pilgrimage to the Dawn of Evolution’, a fascinating history of life on earth, by the renowned biologist  and thinker Richard Dawkins.”

I hear the deep voice again.” Yes and thank you. I would like to borrow your book and also to read the new one.”

images (2)

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

Archives

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

Lekhamisra

Lekhamisra

Hello and Namaste to my wonderful bloggers and readers. I am Lekha, grew up in one of the beautiful city of Odisha in the mystical land India. My paternal grandmother was a perfect story teller- stories of brave kings and queens to stories of freedom fighters, to stories on kindness,honesty, compassion, truthfulness. As soon as I learned to read, my marvelous adventures started through the fairy tales, the mysteries, the classics and the autobiographies. O’ Yes, it was lots of fun! Life got busy with my son and daughter in their school,library, music class, dance class, tennis, soccer, scout, debate...Staying active is very important for me. I have a deep affection and respect to Nature. After the children started their own lives, enormous time has poured into my weekends. I decide to do devout my time in volunteering. But still I could not satisfy my hunger and craving to do something more. One evening, I was reading some article on international issues on children, women,and on animal cruelty, which were very disturbing, traumatic and sad. It is very hard to see others in suffering. Life is more fulfilling and rich when you help others, when you bring smile on others. “ Be a rainbow in someone else’s clouds.”- Maya Angelou. So I start to write again. I want my writing to be a strong voice for others in distress; for the innocent animals,for children, for women, on global warming and for all other social causes. And I am thankful to WordPress for providing this wonderful platform to express my observation, views and dreams. I hope you explore the stories,enjoy and leave appropriate comments.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

I Voted

Social

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Thoughtful stories that are occasionally surprising and often inspiring.

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

