Breaking the shackle

Breaking the Law

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

Amber enters through the glass door into the Four seasons hotel with her sleek black handbag in one hand and the laptop in the other hand. Her pigtail  swings like a cheerful jump-rope.She waves her hand to all the staffs with a big smile and walks into her office. Today is a very busy day for her as the oil and gas convention will start in a few days and  she has to stock and arrange the whole store for the International guests. Amber gently touches the petal pink peonies that spills out from the  corner vase like  a mist rising over wind-swept dunes. She walks around the store with her I-pad and takes note of all the merchandise.  She enjoys this beautiful store with decorated glass windows, white and grey marble floor, cherry wood shelves with all expensive gift items,  luxurious , earth friendly products of Gilchrist & Soames, Bliss skin care and aromatherapy products from’ Lather’ company, designer dresses, perfumes, bestseller fictions and non-fictions. Amber stretches her hand to one of the higher shelve and tries to rearrange the new books. Suddenly the door opens with a chime and Amber turns her head back towards the door to see a  man in medium height, a black mustache, with a Blue t-shirt, a jean pant, both hands in his pant pocket walks into the store.

‘Good morning’! says Amber with a smile to welcome the guest and, then remembers seeing him in the previous day in the hotel lobby.

”Good morning mam! May I look around”, he asks with a smile.

”Sure.Please and if you need any help then feel free to  let me to  know”, replies Amber then she  turns around to arrange the books. Something is not right, there is a kind of artificial, sad smile on the face of the guest which makes Amber pauses and turns her head to look at the gentle man. He stands near the stacks of magazines and just flips his fingers through the pages, but his face shows as if he is in a different world, in deep thought. Amber adjusts her eyeglass, walkssoftly towards the guest and, gently asks him if she can help him with anything. He glances up with wide eyes, then looks down, and slides the magazine back on the shelve. He opens his mouth to speak, then stares down at his hand, to the glass windows and towards the door. His forehead is shaded with a heavy cloud, lips are sealed in an expression of sadness. He clears his throat and moves closer to Amber. He asks” Are you from India?”

”Yes. Why? Are you?”

”Yes. I am, he says. Then he leans a little closer. His eyes begin to glisten. He tries to hide the tears, and looks around as if he  checks the surrounding.Then he asks, “Do you think you can help me out?”

Amber was surprised to hear that from a guest, in a five-star hotel  and clearly remembers the rules. But now she is more eager to know about this person. Amber ask the guest to follow her to her office,asks him to seat on a chair and closes the office door. She assures him that he can share his problem with confidence.She listens to his story.

‘My name is Adi and I am from a very poor family from a small village in North India. I have a  wife, four children, and  almost seventy years old parents. I looked for a good paying job but could not, he sighs. One day when I was buying vegetable from the store, I overheard the name of an agency who can provide  job. So I took the phone number ,called up  the agency , signed the contract to go to another country as a driver where food, clothing will be free, they will pay a good sum of salary fifteen days off in a year. That sounded perfect to me so  I signed the contract without telling my family. I started getting butterflies on my stomach hearing this good news. That evening after a day of hard labor, on my way to home I went straight to the market. A fresh watery evening. The turf and paths were rustling with moist grass. From the road side stall I purchased a red car, a beautifully dressed doll. That evening I suddenly fell in love with the grounds under my feet, air over the head and everything I touched. I walked back home to give the good news but my family did not want me to leave the country. They wanted us to stay together in one place. But I had to, yes I had to. I wanted to shower my family with a little comfort and  with happiness: good food, medical treatment, clothes and education for my kids. The night before I left India, I buried my face deeper under a pillow but could not sleep. I had too many wonderful dreams which were floating and taking shapes in my head. I woke up in every half an hour to check the time. Around early morning I walked slowly to my parent’s bed and sat there for a while on their side. Hopefully I will see them soon. I was a little scared too but, I am a man and I have to be brave. Next morning I packed my bags with two shirts, one toothbrush, a small tube of paste, one pant  with a big hole on the corner on the left pocket, a comb. Before I leave we hugged each other. My dad was sitting on the front porch flushed and gloomy. My wife had tears on her lashes and my children did not know what to say. I turned around couple times to look at their faces. And they were still standing at the doorsteps, wiping their tears. I was there hope, their dream. Everything was arranged and I left India.

Once I arrived there the agency took me to  a beautiful house of a rich family.  where I have been working for ten years now.  And soon I found out that I am not only their driver but also I have to do any type of job that they want me to do. There is no time to rest, they give some money to send back to home but not what they promised. I do not have any contact with my family.Even they have my passport so that I can not go back to my country. They are visiting here in business and I am here with them. I want someone to help me out. I want to go back to my country, to see my parents, my kids. Please I beg you, help me.’

Amber is speechless. Her heart squeezes momentarily with pain. She walks to standby the small window, bits her tongue hard  and blinks back her tears. This is just slavery, torture, nothing else, she murmurs. She closes her eyes and attempt to hear an inner voice. She turns around and looks at Adi.
“Let me think about this and, tomorrow I will give a phone card and a number for an attorney whom you can call about helping you in this situation.” Then Amber bends down on desk and  writes down Adi’s room number on a pad.

Adi thanks Amber and promises to see her the next say. Amber has to break the rules of the hotel. She is not allowed to , may be suspend from her job but she is determined to help Adi out.

download              download (1)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maddmombetty
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 06:09:06

    Awesome story. Are you going to continue the line, make it into a serial?

    Like

    Reply

  2. rogershipp
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 22:29:01

    Jefferson is a man to be listened to on many levels! Enjoyed your story.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

Archives

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

Lekhamisra

Lekhamisra

Hello and Namaste to my wonderful bloggers and readers. I am Lekha, grew up in one of the beautiful city of Odisha in the mystical land India. My paternal grandmother was a perfect story teller- stories of brave kings and queens to stories of freedom fighters, to stories on kindness,honesty, compassion, truthfulness. As soon as I learned to read, my marvelous adventures started through the fairy tales, the mysteries, the classics and the autobiographies. O’ Yes, it was lots of fun! At middle school my imagination started to take wings into short stories and sometimes in sketching. In 1987 I came to USA to continue my education in Psychology. Life got busy with my son and daughter in their school,library, music class, dance class, tennis, soccer, scout, debate...Staying active is very important for me.So after work, I enjoy going to different classes - kickboxing, RIPP, PiYo and Yoga. I have a deep affection and respect to Nature. For me winter is the champion. During winter vacation it is always delightful to hike on the gorgeous,stunning and beautiful snowy mountains in different national parks. After the children started their own lives, enormous time has poured into my weekends. I decide to do devout my time in volunteering. But still I could not satisfy my hunger and craving to do something more. One evening, I was reading some article on international issues on children, women,and on animal cruelty, which were very disturbing, traumatic and sad.I could not stop my tear or could not sleep. It is very hard to see others in suffering. Life is more fulfilling and rich when you help others, when you bring smile on others. “ Be a rainbow in someone else’s clouds.”- Maya Angelou. So I start to write again. I want my writing to be a strong voice for others in distress; for the innocent animals,for children, for women, on global warming and for all other social causes. Sometimes the truth is hard to digest but I am determined to reflect on those topics to make my readers aware on social issues. And I am thankful to WordPress for providing this wonderful platform to express my observation, views and dreams. I hope you explore the stories,enjoy and leave appropriate comments.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Uplifting Stories on WordPress.com

I Voted

Social

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

I'm a Writer, Yes, I Am!

Martha Ann Kennedy's Blog, Copyright 2013-2017, all rights reserved to the author/artist

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

ParkInkSpot

I may make you feel, but I can't make you think.

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

Your Motivation Guru

Your Daily Dose of Motivation!

Tee's Tiny Blog

Tiny Travel, Big Adventure!

LeftWithLouie

Explore the world & get lost with louie

Eloquently Kate

Threading Together Simple Pleasures like Pearls on a String

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

